Archinect
anchor

Is it worth getting licenced as an architect through the RAIC Sylabus program in Canada?

jamesAmckinnon

Hello,

I am wondering if anyone here has had any experience with the sylabus program recently and if I could get some advice on pursuing this option to become an architect.

I have a Drafting and Design diploma as well as a Power Engineering diploma which is not a professional engineering degree just to clarify because some people get confused by the name. It is just a diploma but I have gained useful knowledge through both of the programs I went through. I have spent 4 years in school and have finally started doing something I actually like doing at 23 years old. I work at an architecture firm in a beautiful location with some great coworkers. I am doing drafting and design work but have always had a strong attraction to becoming an architect and regret not doing that in the first place. I thought the schooling was too long of a process but I am more focused on stuff that really matters now and have decided to spend my career in the architecture field.

My dilemma now though is that I really want to become an architect as I always have but now I really don’t want to go back to school and build up even more student loans and start my career over again when I am 30. So I have been thinking lately that the RAIC sylabum program might be the best way  for me to accomplish what I want to while still being able to save money and build up career capital. 

If anyone has any experience with the program or knows someone that has done it and is willing to share their thoughts or advice it would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks a lot!

Feb 17, 19 12:38 am
Non Sequitur

the syllabus is built for people in your situation. It’s long but it will allow you to gain the required education while maintaining your career path. Hopefully there is an active RAIC circle in your area. 

Feb 17, 19 7:55 am  · 
 · 
jamesAmckinnon