Archinect
anchor

How do I start going towards architecture?

krystianturlej

I am a 15 year old student in North London. I’m doing my GCSE’s this year in English, Maths, Graphics, Science, Spanish, Geogrpahy, Art and Photography. 

I aspire to be a architect since I’m like 12 years old and I’ve been trying to pick related subjects in school so it can get me closer to my goal. For my A-Levels I’ve picked Graphics, Mathematics, and Art. However I want to know what I can do at home or anywhere to get me closer to becoming a architect. Is there anything I should start practicing or learning to help me progress fast in the future. 

Thank you, I really appreciate any answer

Feb 7, 19 4:28 pm
placebeyondthesplines

it sounds like you've chosen your a-levels extremely well, and it's great that you're trying to prepare for architecture school so early. getting into the habit of sketching often (buildings, people, mechanical objects, nature) will be super helpful, especially if you pay as much attention as possible to the play of light in your sketches.

on the other end of things, it wouldn't hurt to start learning some programming too. computation is becoming more and more important in architectural practice, and you have time to establish a real foundation of knowledge that you'll definitely be able to apply later.

Feb 7, 19 6:17 pm  · 
 · 
krystianturlej

Tanks so much for replying. It helps me so so much, I will start to try sketching and I’ll look into programming too thank you very much

Feb 8, 19 2:52 pm  · 
 · 
thatsthat

Definitely practice sketching.  Creating formally composed drawings is a great skill, but it is also important to know how to take a sketchbook, some pens/pencils, and draw what you see.  It's often the hardest skill for people to pick up so the more you practice, the better.