Archinect
anchor

How to Find Housing as a young Intern Architect

Hello,

I am a first year architecture student who lives in Pennsylvania but goes to college in Ohio. I have already had two internship and racked up a decent bit of AXP credit hours -- but I'm starting to think about the possibilities of employment this upcoming summer. 

This past summer, I worked at a firm in my hometown, so housing was no problem. Currently, I'm working on campus at my University's Architecture office, so again, housing is no issue since my dorm is like a 15 minute walk from the office.

However, this summer, I am looking at opportunities in Ohio -- specifically Cleveland -- since that is where many graduates from my school go, where I've made contacts via career fairs and firm visits, d because I just feel like that may be the place where I end up to work professionally day. 

So, my question is: how can I find housing in Cleveland if I don't have family there? I know I could probably sublease or rent a place, but with a 3-month nonsalaried "paid by the hour" internship... that would probably net me close to zero profit. Do you think some firms might "subsidize" me to live somewhere since I'm a student intern from out of town? Is that even a thing?

Thank you for all the feedback in advance. 

Feb 5, 19 3:47 pm
Non Sequitur

why would anyone pay for their intern labour's living expenses?  There is no shortage of fresh grads willing to work for nearly nothing as it is.

Feb 5, 19 5:11 pm  · 
 · 
Steeplechase

Get a job that pays a decent wage. Don’t accept lousy pay for “experience.” Live some place cheap, not in the middle of the trendy area. If other students are seeking work there too, then find a roommate. 

Feb 5, 19 5:18 pm  · 
 · 
Witty Banter