Archinect
anchor

Possibly changing university program.

Helloworld123456

hey

I am a first year university student in the sciences. I really like the sciences but I have realized recently I dont have the satifaction i need. In highschool i explaored the arts and really liked to build things. I went into the science because everything made sense to me. I wanted to make more sense of everything....kinda how i felt but dont really know what it means anymore. 

I recently found and architecture firm that was really interesting. I think that was the spark. There building were really different and natural. I saw thw images and though that that was something I would like to do. 

But im not sure if it just a phase. I really feel strongly about this but I dont know if its strong enough.

I also know that architecture and even the science isnt what i really thing about it. Meaning i know its not easy and i know i nothing about how it really is. I always hear stories about how long it takes to become an architect, but im just really confused and have no idea how i interpret anything.

Any advice for me? Has anyone else gone through the same thing?

Feb 1, 19 11:04 am
Non Sequitur

What advice do you want?  Does your current university offer an architecture degree?  If so, go audit a few classes and see for yourself.  Arch school is not the same as a typical university degree and you'll be required to think conceptually and critically much more than if you stay in pure sciences (ie.  there is often no correct answer to a design problem).  That's a very succinct summary of arch studio.  The rest, depending on the quality of the university, is about business and construction practices/detailing.