Archinect
anchor

Universities with a practically oriented M.Arch 2 program

newguy12

Hello,

This is my first post on archinect. Please bear with me if my English is not good. Before getting into the details of the program that I am looking for, I would like to give a brief introduction about myself.

I am an architect from India and I have 7 years of work experience in the field of interior design. I have been freelancing for the last 3 years working on interior design projects. I found the scale and the ability to detail in interior design project very comfortable. I had discovered my skills in interior design while working in an architecture firm in India which does interior design projects as well. My clients and former bosses had appreciated my simple, sensible, logical, pragmatic and professional approach to design. I don't particularly have great sketching or model making skills but I am pretty good with software like Sketchup and Photoshop. I would like to learn Rhino and/or Revit in the masters program and I feel that I am pretty confident and comfortable in learning and using new software. 

I have recently opened up to the idea of pursuing a masters in architecture. My reason is that I would like to learn and develop skills to design, detail and execute buildings, which I had not been able to during my time in the offices I had worked. I would also like to work in the US for few years after my masters. I will eventually return to India and resume my practice. I don't envision myself having a big practice and working on large architecture projects, once I return. I see myself working on small scale architecture projects along with interior design projects.

My criteria for the university/program is listed below.