Archinect
anchor

GRE for Grad School (architecture)

frankobi

Hello everyone,

Im currently a project Designer at a architecture firm in sac who has a undergradate degree in interior architecture.

I’m going to apply to grad school to get an Master in architecture and I know the requirements I need. I got my portfolio, and the ppl I need to write a letter of recommendation,  but the only that is kinda scaring me is the GRE exam scores. I’m not good with those type of exams and I’ve been studying for it for the last 4 months but I still feel like I’m not going to do well. I already know that I’m not good on the math section. So I’m going to try my best on the essay and vocab section. 

My question to everyone is how much do schools look at the score when considering who will get accepted? 

Thanks for the replies and Happy Hoildays!!!

Dec 22, 18 9:07 pm
thatsthat

Not an ad, but look up Magoosh. They have a free blog with tips. If you can swing the price, they have an online prep program that helped me raise my score by 5 points in verbal and math.

Dec 23, 18 11:58 am  · 
 · 
placebeyondthesplines_

the GRE is absurdly easy. if you've been studying for four months, surely you've also been taking practice tests and you know approximately what scores to expect. 

a perfect (or near-perfect score) is easier to attain on the GRE than any other standardized test I know, so excellent scores won't really help your chances so much as terrible scores will hurt them. don't completely bomb the test, and as long as your other materials are strong you will be fine.

Dec 23, 18 3:56 pm  · 
 · 
placemaker

I second the rec for Magoosh (and also have no affiliation with the company).