Archinect
anchor

Best printer for Architecture students?

SebastianThor

hi! I’m a first year architecture student going into my second semester and I’m looking to upgrade my printer, my printer right now is only good for printing out word documents.  My pictures come out all blurry and grainy. Wondering if there was a nice inexpensive option for me somewhere out there.

Dec 14, 18 12:34 pm
Non Sequitur

people still buy home printers?  I'm sure your university must have print facilities cheaper than buying a printer.

Dec 14, 18 1:14 pm  · 
 · 
monosierra

You should use the school's plotters.

Dec 14, 18 1:41 pm  · 
 · 
flatroof

36'' wide format plotter. Canon or HP. Get one on ebay for two grand or so. 

Dec 15, 18 5:33 pm  · 
 · 
babyarchitect1

When i transferred into arch school I got gifted a canon printer. It was fine for a while, but canon makes you replace all cartridges when only one is empty so I had to consistently buy new ink that was way over my budget. I ended up just buy knockoff ink from amazon for 10 bucks and now I only print word documents and readings for classes since the knockoff ink isn't great for images. At the end of the day, the printers in my lab print way better and the type of printer doesn't make the ink bleed. 

Dec 18, 18 12:29 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

May 5, 20 7:54 pm  · 
1  · 
lernom

Have you tried HP Deskjet  9800? I'm planning to purchase this brand as I heard that its features are great not just for student but for licensed architects as well. It allows wide and clear formatting that results to clearer printed designs.

Dec 27, 18 5:31 am  · 
 · 
JonathanLivingston

A nice inkjet that prints 11x17 is really valuable. I have enjoyed the Cannons in the past. But for the bulk of prints, send it out, pick it up,pay the fee and you will be better off.

Dec 27, 18 2:00 pm  · 
 · 
OneLostArchitect

I bought a hp for personal developments https://www.amazon.com/HP-T520-Design-Wireless-printer/dp/B0098NXYM6 

Dec 27, 18 2:08 pm  · 
 ·