Archinect
anchor

Thoughts on UBC Dual Masters program????

saqibm7575

Hey all, 

I'm a recent graduate from Environmental Design (ED) from OCADU in Toronto, and considering applying to UBC for my Masters. I loved the ED program as it allowed me to explore architecture, landscape architecture and urban design... but this led me to my current dilemma... What to pursue after in graduate school? However, coming across UBC's Dual masters, MLA and MArch combined, made my decision extreme easy as i would love to pursue both(within 4 year time frame). I've read about the school itself and M.Arch program and they all seem really positive, but i could not find much about the dual masters other then the program site itself, which states that it is a EXTREMELY Competitive (Like i was not already nervous about getting accepted in the first place) After spending two weeks in Vancouver last summer, I'm pretty well sold on UBC and rather excited about the idea of going there.

I wanted to take this opportunity to start a new thread about masters programs, M.Arch, MLA, Dual masters. It would be great to hear your thoughts, experience, and even tips on the application process from everyone, especially from students and applicants who applied before or are doing it now. That said, my undergraduate in ED does qualify me for advance placement, which i was not planning to do so to better my chances of acceptance, however, upon contacting the faculty, i was told that i must apply for Advanced Placement(AP). This leads me to ask, if i were to apply for AP, how does an ED undergraduate stack up against a legit Architecture undergraduate? I must say, it is a little discouraging, but i would love to hear your thoughts on this!  I'd particularly love hear more about from students about the studios (and hear more about the projects) or providing your firsthand opinions, I'd like to talk to you! Just let me know.

Cheers, - Saqib

Nov 29, 18 9:00 pm
Non Sequitur