Archinect
anchor

Structures Help for Architecture Students

rotsknollrotsknoll

Hello,

I'm a Civil Engineer with graduate studies in Structural Engineering. I haven't been able to practice structural engineering professionally but it is a discipline I love and have been trying to merge it as a side project. What I've been thinking of is creating a website for helping Architecture students learn about structures in a way that could:

1.- Help them pass their Structures courses

2.- Understand Structures in a way that's practical enough to have this knowledge as a permanent tool for their professional practice.

I'm talking about something that could let them have a firm grasp of how to do Structural Analysis for dimensioning and feasibility before having a Structural Engineer do the engineering work.

Is this a problem for architecture students at all?

Do you think there are students that could be looking out for this?

Nov 2, 18 9:48 pm
Non Sequitur

My arch undergrad taught me enough to know when my structural p.eng was full of it.  

Nov 3, 18 12:48 am  · 
 · 
rotsknollrotsknoll

Thanks for replying. I understand you're a practicing architect now? How do you relate to structural analysis? Is it something that you care about at all or do you just leave it for the PE? During your undergrad years, did you enjoy or have trouble with structures courses?

Sorry for the questionnaire, I'm just curious. 

Nov 3, 18 1:10 pm  · 
 · 
donutsfordough

If you're doing this for free, expect your time wasted. Either charge money as a tutor or just make a blog and assume the effort is all in good fun.

Nov 3, 18 4:54 am  · 
 · 
rotsknollrotsknoll

I'm not sure exactly what I would do. I'm exploring ways to serve someone while using this interest/knowledge I have. In other words... Is there a need for tutoring, like you proposed? 

Are you an Architecture student yourself?

Perhaps this is not the right forum to be asking this questions. Can you recommend one?

Thanks!