Archinect
anchor

From Construction career to Architecture

alijaber
Hello,

I graduated from architecture school almost 5 years ago, from then i got employed in one of the highly ranked contracting company in the country, i started as a technical coordinator for 3 years then i shifted my carrer to site engineer and now is my second year in the fieled.

Honesetly after 5 years of working in construction i feel miserable, weak and confused. being in the construction field made me far from architecture and design. Sadly this is so depressing especially that im a talented creative person who always had the dream to start his own business firm and be my own boss.

Now i have thoughts of quitting my job and join any architecture firm in order to get the lost know how after 5 years, Im 29 years old now and this is making me hesitant to shift my career again and start from the bottom.

Anyone of you guys had the same situation? How did u overcome it?isn’t it depressing to start from 0 at the age of 29 with peanuts money only to get the know how?

Oct 28, 18 3:08 am
randomised

"especially that im a talented creative person"

In your opinion ;)

You're not too old and you have real world technical and construction experience your peers in an architecture office could only dream of. You won't start on the bottom, don't worry too much about that.

Oct 28, 18 1:19 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

Sounds like they got ya with the golden handcuffs... gotta risk big to win big... or just keep on colllecting a paycheck.

Oct 28, 18 3:38 pm  · 
 · 
archinine