Archinect
anchor

What difficulties to Architects face in their workflow?

arminbroubakarian

I'm a software engineer doing some research on the workflow of an Architect. 

what issues / difficulties does an architect face during their workflow?  

What tools do you wish existed, that may help you overcome some of these difficulties?

How often do Architects collaborate with each other and how easy is it?

Thank you,

Armin 

Oct 20, 18 11:43 pm
randomised

I like it that you capitalise Architect, makes me feel very special and important.

Oct 21, 18 6:57 am  · 
 · 
curtkram

can you create software that will tame the overinflated egos of our designers?

Oct 21, 18 10:21 am  · 
 · 
curtkram

To clarify, we break projects into SD, DD, CD, CA. SD is the most fun, so we spend a lot of time screwing around and making big mistakes. Those mistakes get shoved into DD, where we try to scramble to fix both the design and schedule that was broken in SD. DD can't fix it, so they push their mistakes into CD. CD pushes their mistakes into CA. CA becomes constantly reacting to problems created by everyone else.

Oct 21, 18 10:24 am  · 
 · 
curtkram

If software could fix the problems created by not thinking through the pictures we color in SD, everything else becomes easy.

Oct 21, 18 10:25 am  · 
 · 
arminbroubakarian

Hi curtkram,

Thanks for responding. 

Sounds like the project is broken into different phases. How do you guys track what phase the project is in?

Do you guys have a centralized place of keeping track of the project and it's requirements?

Also what is the requirements before the project goes into the next phase (SD --> DD) and does it go backwards if it needs to (SD <-- DD)?

Thanks

Oct 21, 18 10:42 am  · 
 · 
arminbroubakarian

Do you guys have reviews before the project is promoted to the next phase?

Oct 21, 18 10:50 am  · 
 · 
curtkram