Archinect
anchor

Help getting into McGill - MArch in Urban Design & Housing (post-professional)

ff9208

Hello everyone! 

I am looking for some advice and an honest assessment from those of you who have had experience with McGill Master's programs.

I am an international student from Guatemala living in the U.S. I got my B.S. in Architecture (unaccredited) from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and I am currently getting my masters, also from UL Lafayette. 

I would like to apply to the MArch in Urban Design & Housing at McGill, since I have developed a strong interest in urbanism and metropolitan well-being.  I would like to share my profile with you and see what you think my chances are of getting accepted! Thank you!

Undergrad GPA: 3.66/4.0

Current Graduate GPA: 3.75/4.0

portfolio:  https://fjfdesign.files.wordpress.com/2018/07/summer-2018-portfolio.pdf 

Resume: attached as jpeg

Worked for the following firms as a summer intern: Kirksey Architecture, Tipton Associates, ARCH&also, Tru Design LLC. 

I have over 1500 hours of full time architectural experience.

I would really appreciate your advice and honest opinion on my profile. Considering I have a good essay, do you think I could make it in? 

Oct 18, 18 7:39 pm
donutsfordough

So how many degrees do you think these fits of passion will require? What if you grow bored of urbanism--a doctorate then in what, sociology?

I suggest you actually figure out where to go in your life before jumping onto the next degree train. There's no reason why you cannot leverage existing education and experience to make something work.

Oct 18, 18 8:05 pm  · 
 · 
ff9208

Thank you for you reply, but I am particularly interested in the program at McGill, and have decided to apply. I posted this to get advice on strengthening my application to the program, not on the validity of my decision to pursue it. Thank you.

Oct 18, 18 8:19 pm  · 
 · 
ff9208