Archinect
anchor

Do you learn to build buildings in Architecture Grad School?

MValley

I know it seems obvious. But I'm in my first semester of M.Arch at Pratt. I do not have a intimate background in architecture (my father does;he runs his own business), and besides having to learn all the confusing software I'm trying to understand what the premise of the professors' agenda. 

It seem like the undergrad draw by hand a bit and build models of buildings by hand. The grad program wants to "go beyond" just architecture even when I haven't gotten the basics -- which is why I'm in a 3 year not 2 year program...? We are building shapes without steady bottoms,experimenting with different materials, combing different thresholds into one (a threshold is apparently not the bump you step over in a doorway -- it's the whole exterior of the doorway/columns bricks,concrete.)

There might be real estate classes and building code later on but I am supposed to be confused even when they explain stuff? 

Has anyone else experienced anything similar? 

Oct 16, 18 8:31 pm
rickrossdaboss

they’re teaching you to think. If you can’t think spatially how can you design a building. Learn to crawl first. 

Pratt does suck though

Oct 16, 18 8:54 pm  · 
 · 
∑ π ∓ √ ∞

Um. Pratt, most certainly doesn't, suck.

Oct 16, 18 9:42 pm  · 
 · 
MValley

Besides the confusing curriculum -- the teachers are all pretty good. The Administration is what sucks -- I actually had to hand deliver a 2 receipts across campus to pay my library fee.

Oct 16, 18 11:08 pm  · 
 · 
rickrossdaboss

No, it sucks b3

Oct 17, 18 6:33 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

You had to walk across campus? Did anyone lay out a carpet for you first?

Oct 17, 18 9:14 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Grad school taught be how shit goes together and how an architectural practice runs.  Undergrad taught we to think conceptually.

Oct 16, 18 9:03 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit