Archinect
anchor

COMMUNITY COLLEGE/ UNIVERSITY?

pheoj

Hi, I'm interested in taking Arch as my major. But i still haven't decide if i should take B.arch/ BS (could get some advice here) and should i go to college first for 2 years then transfer into uni or should i just go to university immediately? (i want to take USA- maybe California? ) and which college/ university is great for improving my skill and get a job? i know this is commong question as it should depend on myself but.. im so confused!

Right now I'm in my last year of senior highschool, which is disastrous how late am i to think about this. 

Oct 16, 18 10:12 am
senjohnblutarsky

Transferring from a community college is a waste of two years, and the money associated with it.  The architecture program will be a set number of studio years, regardless of the credits you transfer.  

Oct 16, 18 10:16 am  · 
 · 
pheoj

Thx for your information, but isn't college supposed to be lower price? and as far as i know c.college and univ 2 years would be a general study?(except i'm wrong about this sorry). Well,i'm considering college because i don't feel that confident in my art portofolio, so i thought maybe i could help myself to push my GPA in college and it'll become easier to go to uni cause uni acceptance rate is quite lower than college does.

Oct 16, 18 10:59 am  · 
 · 
placebeyondthesplines

no. try listening. you will have 4-5 years worth of courses and studios in an undergraduate architecture program, regardless of what credits you transfer from a shitty community college. how is this so mystifying?

Oct 16, 18 1:56 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

"Architecture programs are structurally discriminatory against community college graduates."

Conversely, the general study requirements provided by a Community College are not considered relevant to the practice of Architecture.

Oct 19, 18 2:07 pm  · 
 · 
Steeplechase