Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Review

jpeg dot jpeg

Hello! I'm trying to apply for M. Arch I programs and I'd love to get some thoughtful criticism on my portfolio

I studied graphic design for undergrad, so the projects that are architecture related were all done outside of an academic setting.

The last few pages are blank because I'm trying to decide what other projects to include. I have a few fine art paintings and drawings I could throw in, as well as projects on my website. If any of you want to have a look at my work on there and give me some advice on what else to include I'd appreciate it!

I know everyone on here is known for being too soft on these portfolio reviews, so really, don't hold back!

Also, the video I reference in the NASA project can be found here.

Sep 27, 18 10:30 am
Non Sequitur

There is nothing to critique... so little substance. 

Since you have no architecture background, don't try and come up with architecture'ish stuff.  Show your creative thinking chops and design flair in a medium and subject matter you've actually studied.  So far, it's just a collection of polished final images and zero progress images.  Where are the concept sketches, the dirty napkin doodles, the trial & error experiments?  I'll give you points for listing your interests under habits.  

Sep 27, 18 11:08 am  · 
 · 
jpeg dot jpeg

Point taken for the architecture stuff. I'm quite cynical about graphic design being so cosmetic, so I shied away from using anything less than my strongest/ most thoughtful work from that field.

Sep 27, 18 11:56 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Here's a secret: it's just as, if not more important, to demonstrate how you think about design, than actually design. Those who will be reviewing the work need to see that you understand the basics (scale, shape, proportions, light, etc) and can manipulate those in interesting ways. More often than not, this is easiest to see in the discarded concept sketches that lead to that final shiny image.