Archinect
anchor

Architectural Thesis HELP!

aaaanw

Hello all! 

THESIS TOPIC HELP!  I'm looking to get some input as I begin my 5th and final thesis year.  Throw anything out that comes to mind.  I have some decent ideas but want more perspectives and ideas to blend in!

I would like to do innovative and interdisciplinary research following mainly these two criteria (in order of importance):

1. I would like to blend this architectural thesis with Real Estate and Land Development themes.

2. I would hopefully like to be able to work with a topic applicable to the real world (i.e. a current design competition, an industry project, real built structure.

I have no further parameters as I'm just beginning my research for the year.  Thanks a lot.

Noah

Sep 26, 18 7:29 pm
Non Sequitur

Neither of those are thesis topics.... they are very vague research directions at best.  Here's a hint:  You're in school to learn and produce work, not lazily crowd-source your homework.

Here what you should do, in order of importance:

1.  Learn what a real academic thesis is.
  2. See if point 1 applies to whatever it is you're responsible to complete
  3. Realize that you've confused the term thesis with a 5th-year honors project
  4. Pick program, pick a site, design something interesting and unique
  5. Graduate and stop being so lazy

Sep 26, 18 10:53 pm  · 
1  · 
aaaanw

lol.

Sep 27, 18 4:30 pm  · 
 · 
randomised

Noah, maybe built an ark because it seems you're drowning.

Sep 27, 18 2:55 am  · 
1  · 
archiwutm8

Maybe architecture isn't for you if you can't even come up with a thesis idea.

Sep 27, 18 6:38 am  · 
 · 
aaaanw

these are funny, ya im 5 years into school, worked at 3 firms, think i know what im after

Sep 27, 18 4:42 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur