Archinect
anchor

disaster mitigation

arayna

hi,
I'm an architecture student and my thesis topic will focus on the people affected by disasters and measures that can be taken before disasters i.e.disaster preparedness. I'm designing a disaster mitigation centre which will provide a place for people(local communities, architects, engineers) to come and prepare the various alternative form of shelters and also teach the local people so that they can be prepared during disasters and help others. I'm looking for any kind of help you can provide also I'm aiming at Orissa cyclones so if you have any idea of an appropriate site for this it would be really helpful to me.

Jul 31, 18 4:42 pm
Non Sequitur
Relocate permanently to non disaster zones? Where is the thesis?
Jul 31, 18 4:54 pm  · 
 · 
arayna

it's for helping those people those modules could reach out to them during disasters .i'm designing a place where those moduled could be made and tested and taught

Aug 8, 18 3:28 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

so... some sort of community centre. Got it, but that's not a thesis; it's just a general project idea. I can't imagine this being a very difficult subject to research. Loads of examples of design solutions for difficult environments in all scales.

Aug 8, 18 3:34 pm  · 
 · 
arayna

what's wrong with that there so many art or heritage centres present but non for disaster awareness. As an architect, it's up to me how I'm designing a place which would help in public awareness and preparedness. The centre will have a PTSD centre bcz people who have suffered may want to save others,a memorial like how people go to places for candle march and things and a teaching place bringing together all the communities involved . Creating such a place could increase public awareness and bring more people's attention towards natural disasters so that there is more help available when required.

Aug 8, 18 3:51 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur