Archinect
anchor

How hard is it to get accepted into Cornell's B.Arch Program ?

ishmamahmed

Hellooo !

I'm currently working on a list of colleges that i'll be applying to this year and I am faced with a crucial decision : There's only one college I can apply to with the Early Decision application, should I choose Cornell ?
Another issue is that my portfolio is more Visual Design Based and less on architectural drawings, How can I properly portray that ?

I'm aiming for the B.Arch program in Cornell University College of Architecture, Art, and Planning and here is a summary/stat of my application :

Type of applicant : International ( Bangladesh )
Phase : I've taken a gap year ( I'll be 19 when I apply )

Class Rank : Top 5%
SAT : 1520
SAT Subject Tests : History - 780, Maths II - 800
Grade : 5.00/5.00 ( Bangladeshi curriculum / HSC )

ECAs :
> I'm a digital illustrator and I've been doing this for around 4 years. Self taught, and I've done some online courses on it.
> As one of the only ( ONLY ) designers in my school I had to do design work ranging from school magazines, festivals, club logos and i cant even ..
> I've been working for a national newspaper as an editorial illustrator
( Since January 2016 ) 
> I used to work part time for a design studio back in high school and full-time on vacations. Mostly in identity, illustration & print. ( s. Feb2016)
> I'm currently working full-time for a creative/design agency as an identity designer & illustrator ( Since Oct2017 )
> Occasionally I create artworks for a popular satire website
> I've created a Bengali typeface and I'm working on another
> Co-founded an open source Bengali font library that now has a website ( 2017 )  ( As of 20.07.18 we have around 16,000 followers on our Facebook page, although less than 100 contributors who create and upload fonts )
> Recently designed a mini-game ( I made the characters and all the artwork and UI )