Archinect
anchor

UBC MEL - High Performance Buildings or M.arch

Archi-Tech

Hello fellow Archinect members,

To give some background to my prior experience and education I am a graduate of Architectural Technology and will soon have a BA in Building Science. I have always had an interest in Architecture and Engineering and have been successful so far in landing good student positions throughout my education (mainly Construction, Drafting & Project Management).  

My dilemma now is that with the education that I have so far I am unable to apply to many of the M.arch programs in my Canada since I don't have a Degree from an accredited architecture program. The universities that I am able to attend from what I have found are UBC, U of T and Carleton. These programs are all well regarded (with the exception of U of T from some posts I have read here) but they are also highly competitive since they have an open undergrad policy.

My question to you all is whether it would be worth it to spend the $28,000 on the 12 month MEL - High performance building program at UBC? This would give me good experience in Consulting / PM and I would consider the RAIC Syllabus later on if I really want to become a licenced architect and have plenty of real world experience. Or should I take the M.arch route and spend 3 years in school focusing mainly on studio?

I will be taking a few years off school to gain full time work experience so I have time to consider my options but I wanted to get some early feedback from the community.

Thank you all in advance for your advice.

Jul 12, 18 2:15 pm
Non Sequitur