Archinect
anchor

Schools... M.Arch -> History and Theory PhD

jl2496

Hi everyone!

First of all, I know a lot of people don't like these kinds of posts, so feel free to ignore it if it bothers you but I do value the community's insight. I've spoken to multiple professors about this topic but they don't know everything so I'm reaching out on this forum.

I'm a fourth year architecture student and in the process of refining my list of schools for M.Arch. I have a long-list at the moment, but I'm not sure it's completely finished yet, so I'm here for suggestions. Otherwise I'm pretty close to narrowing it down and creating a short-list of the schools I will apply to (5 or 6 schools - mix of top and mid tier).

For context, I'm interested in remaining in academia as a professor, teaching studios and history courses. Though my design work is very strong, I have little interest in professional practice. I'll probably do it for a few years anyway, but I don't want to make a career out of it. With that said, after M.Arch I'd like to do a PhD in History and Theory.

So, as I narrow down my schools, I realize that where I go to receive my M.Arch will likely be where I make my connections and potentially do a PhD in History and Theory. I realize this isn't the exact case 100% of the time, but I do realize it's something I need to seriously consider. So as I look at the M.Arch programs, I also look at the school's History and Theory PhD programs. (This isn't completely necessary but it's very important to me. You'll notice a few schools on my list don't have this.)

Here are a few other things that I am considering:

• no schools in California or NYC (NY state is fine)... I have my reasons
  • I'd like to do a master's thesis
  • Not looking at schools outside of North America
  • I would absolutely love to attain a teaching assistant-ship during grad school... not just for the funding but for the experience