Archinect
anchor

Is Architecture Worth It?

HeavyDrinker

Hello All,

I am fairly new to this site (I made my account 3 minutes before typing this). I graduated this past May with a B.S. in Civil Engineering and I am in the process of applying for grad school to obtain my Masters in Architecture, and maybe a phd eventually. 

My goal was always to obtain both the Civil Degree and the Architecture degree to give me a better understanding of the design process from start to finish. However, after successfully obtaining the B.S. in Civil I felt no joy or satisfaction in my accomplishment.

I have always loved the process of designing structures, and believe that becoming an Architect will bring me the joy and satisfaction Civil did not.

Basically what I want to know is, is the Architecture degree worth it? Are you happy as a professional Architect? or as an educator?

Thanks.

Jun 27, 18 8:26 pm
Non Sequitur

Yes, architecture is worth it if you enjoy putting together buildings, dealing with budget & construction constraints and negotiate with clients, city inspectors, or contractors.  If you think you'll be sitting ontop of piles of cash while making genius broad strokes into glorious magazine worthy art, then no, not worth it.

Have you worked in the field or are you just chasing academia in order to delay the real world?

Jun 27, 18 11:05 pm  · 
thatsthat

"Yes, architecture is worth it if you enjoy putting together buildings, dealing with budget & construction constraints and negotiate with clients, city inspectors, or contractors. If you think you'll be sitting ontop of piles of cash while making genius broad strokes into glorious magazine worthy art, then no, not worth it."

Can this be pinned somewhere on Archinect?  I mean, this is exactly right on to everyone I talk to about pursuing architecture. 

Jun 28, 18 9:23 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Cheers

Jun 28, 18 11:44 am  · 
geezertect

Should be engraved on the AIA headquarters building.