Archinect
anchor

Is going to top colleges worth it?

Kraye

hi,

Im only a rising sophomore and I have Plenty of time to decide what universities I want to go to. I see lists of the same old same old “top architecture schools” and we all know college is super expensive. My state doesn’t even have an accredited program till masters so I’ll be going out of the state for college most likely. 

Long story short. Is it worth paying 50k a year for an architecture degree and going 5 years usually? Architects make decent pay (80k in my area after like 5 years) but is being in that big of debt worth it? Only cal poly tech has a cheap tuition and is pretty good.

Jun 25, 18 1:28 am
randomised

don't fall in the trap of confusing top dollar colleges with top colleges

Jun 25, 18 7:02 am  · 
 · 
geezertect

Architecture degrees are not great investments.  If Cal Poly is good and cheap then do that.  Better yet, do your homework on the profession before you decide to incur debt trying to be one.

Jun 25, 18 7:49 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
You’re a fool if you think $50k/year is anything but absurd.
Jun 25, 18 8:01 am  · 
Kraye

It’s not absurd, other schools are way more expensive. But being able to get cheaper education but good anyways would be good if scholarships and financial aid aren’t an option.

Jun 25, 18 8:50 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

It is absurd to pay that much for an architecture degree.

Jun 25, 18 9:04 am  · 
 · 
Kraye

My school already is 30k a year and I’m only in high school

Jun 25, 18 11:38 am  · 
SneakyPete

To put it in perspective, my first salary was about what you pay for high school.

Jun 25, 18 11:42 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

who pays for high-school? man... your country is broken.

Jun 25, 18 12:03 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

Careful, NS. The disease we have seems to be contagious, and I dont think Canada lacks for xenophobes.

Jun 25, 18 12:12 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur