Archinect
anchor

career change into architecture

mdel205

I am considering a (big) career change from teaching high school physics into architecture, and would love some honest opinions how to do so or if it is possible.  Not only do I hold a bachelor's degree in physics and easily understand math, but I am also artistic and pay close attention to detail.  Together, those facts have led me to consider architecture.

I am aware I will first need to earn a degree in architecture and have reached out to local universities to ask about their programs.  The biggest hurdle I think I will face is submitting a portfolio when I have no architecture or design background.  Is there a way to develop those skills for eventual submission?  Could a portfolio contain other examples of art and design?  What are your thoughts?

My other concern is how to attend school while also supporting myself financially.  From your experience, are master's courses ever offered at night or on weekends, and is it possible to earn a degree part time while also holding a job?  Otherwise I may have to take out many, many loans :/

If I follow through with this, I was considering finding a job at an architecture firm as more of an office assistant or something, hoping I could learn more about the business to supplement my education.  Does that seem like a realistic step to take?

Finally, are there any other skills, abilities, tools, programs, etc., I should practice or familiarize myself with in order to make this a reality?  Any ideas or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot.

Jun 13, 18 12:36 pm
chigurh's comment has been hidden
chigurh

You have come to the right place to have your dreams crushed.