Archinect
anchor

Student interns in Practice

eastcoast

Okay so im a student intern at a firm that super great and does really cool work, but I'm bored to death and feel like im wasting my time as well as theirs sitting at the office with very little (i mean less than an hour) of work to in a full 8 hour day. Its discouraging actually, because I love architecture as a profession. Since i'm in school and I still have time to actually consider things are there other routes within architecture that aren't insanely boring? Just wondering if architects do exist out there that don't sit at the same desk all day. I get it, a student intern isn't the most productive person in the office and i'm super appreciative of any opportunity, so I get that things will change as I progress and finish school and move up in the profession, but are there other professionals that felt similarly and found other outlets?

not trying to change majors or anything drastic but I'm just keeping genuinely curious. 

Disclaimer: also i've written on the forum before and i'm not looking for smart aleck remarks about how I should drop out or how I'm ungrateful so please only respond with genuine responses. 

Jun 12, 18 3:07 pm
senjohnblutarsky

I had to ask for work.  A lot.  Production staff aren't always used to delegating.  So, it takes some prodding.

I played a lot of flash games when i was there.  They knew i wasn't occupied.  

Jun 12, 18 3:15 pm  · 
 · 
eastcoast

Thanks for the response

Jun 13, 18 11:50 am  · 
 · 
joseffischer