Archinect
anchor

What book that teaches about design process?

tatjok

Hello, I am currently in my 2nd semester now, and I am curious about books that teach about the design process, and other stuffs relating to that. Would be appreciating your recommendations! Thank you

Jun 11, 18 10:19 am
CandS

Just go buy that Ingels guys books and do whatever is in those - you'll be just like your classmates in no time!

Jun 15, 18 5:36 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

CandS

it's what I did - that and game design processes - it works - no oversophisticated intellectual stuff

Jun 15, 18 5:57 pm  · 
 · 
Sperticus

Revealing Architectural Design by Phillip Plowright.

Jun 16, 18 9:15 pm  · 
 · 
zonker
Balkins

Many game design concepts are based on 3D diagramming and events - events that determine program and form - many of these ideas can be found in Bernard Tschumi's event cities - Vol 1-4, he uses cinema, which in turn influenced game design - try and Google "the gameification of architecture" it's an interesting blog - also TU Delft, really did a lot in this area also
Jun 16, 18 10:27 pm  · 
 · 
zonker
Also Iannis Xenakis was in many ways the first to do what we refer to today as computational design - if he was alive today, he would be writing Python, and C# code for Dynamo
To find out more about this, go to SFDUG Dynamo to see the latest in computational design presentations
Jun 16, 18 10:34 pm  · 
 · 
nabrU

That area of work will be the first to be automated.

Jun 16, 18 10:36 pm  · 
 · 
randomised

No Iannis wouldn't, he would be in rocking it out with Thom Yorke and Ryoji Ikeda.

Jun 17, 18 12:09 am  · 
 · 
randomised

Alva Noto when doing a boiler room set perhaps ;)

Jun 18, 18 9:01 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Find and follow the golden thread. Not a book. Saved you some time.

Jun 16, 18 10:43 pm  · 
 · 
zonker