Archinect
anchor

March portfolio and BA vs March

zachey

What are my options as a student wishing to pursue architecture as a profession and in my specific situation with my history of coursework?

I have a Bachelor degree in a Modern Foreign Lanjuages and I’m currently in a post-graduate program with the same area of study. I have one year remaining.

How can I make the most of the year I have left in my current program? As far as taking courses that be advantageous when applying for a March? What is your advice to someone like me?

Finally, what is the likelihood of being accepted to March programs at schools like USC or Columbia, with no background in architecture?

Please, I am just beginning to switch pathways and I really need some input from people with experience. 

Thanks 

Jun 6, 18 8:20 am
zachey

also some portfolio tips?

How about woodworking, photography, music production, video editing? Could these be included in a portfolio?

Jun 6, 18 8:21 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Why the switch? Do you know anything about architecture and how it is practiced?

Use the search function in the forums and you'll find plenty of portfolio examples. Your portfolio needs to start by demonstrating you understand the very basics: Scale, shape, light, materials, etc.  The medium is you choice however, visual arts hold the most value as those are the tools most commonly used.

Jun 6, 18 8:26 am  · 
 · 
zachey

Why? I think it’s obvious. I want to pursue architecture as a career. I don’t want to pursue a career with my current degree. 

Jun 6, 18 8:30 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I think it's key question since you're looking at a shit-tonne more school and debt if you don't know what we do on a day to day basis. More importantly, most people take years to assemble portfolios.

Jun 6, 18 8:49 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat