Archinect
anchor

BArch Transfer - seeking community college course advice

zerometers

Hey, new here, found this site searching for architecture school advice.

I'll try to be somewhat brief. I took an academic break for 2 years after high school to live life and learn some things about myself. Recently I've developed a deep interest in going back to school to study architecture and due to my situation I have to start in community college.

I'm an artist with growing confidence in my talent and an affinity for math, but I lack critique and networking skills, and I also don't know how to put together a portfolio.

The time it takes me to complete the program from the start of community college to the end of BArch is not of utmost concern to me.

Would it be worth getting an associate in fine arts, for which my community college happens to have an excellent program and access to a robust studio as well as passionate teachers?

Or should I take a more minimalist route and take only the necessary classes to cut down on my gen ed costs?

What I'm going for is to develop the aforementioned skills I currently lack, as well as set myself up to have a competitive edge in the BArch program post-transfer. Is there an alternate way to achieve this end if I go the CC minimalist route?

Note that at this point in time I plan to transfer to North Carolina State University into their College of Design, at which they will almost certainly start me as a quasi-freshman upon transfer.

I can provide some more information if it would facilitate your response--just ask.

Thanks, I'm looking forward to the journey ahead.

May 11, 18 9:42 pm
rothko67

Z-