Archinect
anchor

New Architect-in-Residence at Cranbrook: Gretchen Wilkins

First time a woman architect is heading up the Cranbrook studio!

I have this fantasy that everyone else is, like me, spending Friday afternoon googling Dr. Wilkins and listening to her Vimeo content. So far I'm super impressed.

https://archinect.com/news/art...

Apr 27, 18 1:59 pm
won and done williams

Is that the right link?

Apr 27, 18 2:18 pm  · 
 · 

yES - IT'S ONE OF TWO TIMES HER NAME HAS APPEAREDD ON aRCHINECT, BOTH RELATED TO THE coMPETITIONOF coMPETITIONS.

Apr 27, 18 2:40 pm  · 
 · 

Oops, sorry - CADding

Apr 27, 18 2:41 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams

I see. I missed that. She was teaching at Michigan in the early aughts when I was a student there. I never had a class with her, but she definitely represents an era at Michigan to me with Keith Mitnick, Mireille Roddier, Jason Young, Karen M'Closky, Tom Buresh, etc.

Apr 27, 18 3:03 pm  · 
 · 

God I'm old - Mirielle was a freshman student in a class I TA'd in undergrad!

Apr 27, 18 3:14 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams

If it makes you feel any better, they were all younger faculty there at the time; it's been interesting watching where their various careers have taken them. It's an accomplished group.

Apr 27, 18 3:30 pm  · 
1  · 
shellarchitect

cranbrook.....i'm super annoyed that they are charging $55 for tours of the FLW home they just bought

Apr 27, 18 2:45 pm  · 
 · 
Flatfish

Didn't Susanna Torre head Cranbrook architecture back around 1990?

Apr 27, 18 3:59 pm  · 
 · 
Janosh

I think she ran the entire place, not just the Architecture studio. Nonetheless, Gretchen is super talented and a great addition for Cranbrook.

Apr 27, 18 5:11 pm  · 
 · 

Exactly. Susanna Torre came to visit and crit the architecture studio when I was a student, then was hired shortly thereafter as director of the entire Art Academy.

Apr 27, 18 7:12 pm  · 
 · 
Flatfish