Archinect
anchor

London Metropolitan University MA- is it a good programme?

Iva_J

Has anybody here graduated from London Met? Could you, please, share your experience? 

I have unconditional offer (which I defer to this year). The cost of the programme is a bit high for international students and school is very low in all rankings. Despite that  I find the atmosphere of the school very pleasant (I was there once).

I'm an architect with 7+ years of practice, mostly in urban design and planning B.Arch and MA Urban Studies (from the University of Manchester). I'm looking for an interesting programme to develop art skills and to get some UK experience. I'm slowly saving money and can't decide should I take the offer or apply next year for better schools.  

Many thanks. 

Apr 27, 18 10:09 am
TED

Which MA?

What do you consider better schools? 

Apr 27, 18 10:15 am  · 
 · 
Iva_J

Yes, MA. Then sit Part 1 and go to the second year of part II in London Met. Better- AA, Manchester School of Architecture, Delft and AHK in Amsterdam. Many TU in European capitals.I don't know how London Met is reputable and how strong the education is there. The second question is it realistic to work part time during studies?

Apr 27, 18 10:20 am  · 
 · 
TED

In the UK, you can generally enter a part 2 without Part 1 except for AA which is a integrated 5 year award.  So would assume you could apply now to MSA and get in.  You use your part 2 course work at the end of the prrogramme to apply for Part 1. You should be able to get into London Met's Part 2 programme. If you look at the optional modules, there is a large overlap with the MA.  UK Schools generally have later applications - 

More than league tables, student/staff ratio is more important and if the university is research based, generally Russel Group.  Queens Belfast and Edinburg good alternates and great cities. These universities offer great support -