Archinect
anchor

consequences of F grades

flash007

Hello everyone
I am studying B.Arch and i have a long study break due to personal reasons. i have a lot of red areas (F grades) in my result sheet. Though my previous grades were very good and only for that reason i am still not in probation. now i am back to school and trying to regain my cgpa as much as i can and i believe i still have enough time left to get a good result at the end.

the questions i have are:
1. will i be able to do my master's with a result of 3.3?
2. even if my cgpa meets the requirement of any university or job position, will i face difficulties because of the years i have lost and the red patches of my grade sheet?

Apr 20, 18 10:13 am

3.3 is still pretty good. As long as you meet the university-wide requirements, your portfolio will be the important piece.

Also, you had some crap happen and now you're bouncing back from it. That speaks volumes and shows tenacity and resiliency. 

Apr 20, 18 10:35 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat

You may want to check if your school allows you to do a grade replace.  My school had this.  Basically if you get a D or F in a class that's not toward your major, you can retake the class (only one time so make it count) and do better.  If you get at least a C, the previous failing grade doesn't get factored into your GPA.  The old grade still shows on your transcript but with a note that you retook the class for better.  The new passing grade does get factored in.  If you fail the class a second time, you now have 2 fails for the same class, so you have to hustle and make it count.  I had some friends do this and it helped them graduate.

As far as I know, a 3.3 is considered on the lower side for masters, but if you have a good GRE and portfolio, you should be fine.

Apr 20, 18 10:47 am  · 
 · 
natematt
All you really need on a resume is that you have a degree, so I wouldn’t sweat that.