Archinect
anchor

Thinking about leaving school

KHendo

Hey everyone, this is my first time on the site and I just need some help with this.

I just graduated with a BA in Architecture and I was planning on pursuing my Masters but honestly this year has made me want to just quit and go ahead and enter the workforce. I was already on the fence about continuing with school and now I think that I need a break. 
The studio professor I have this semester has been discriminating against all all year and we have trying to get help but the college refuses to admit the problem exists. I don't know if I want to stay in a place where they treat the students like this. 

But now I'm looking at jobs that are available and I honestly don't know if I qualify even for entry level jobs, I am proficient in rhino and revit but I don't have any firm experience and I am worried that there's no way I will be able to get a job without it.   Im really just looking for some advice, no one in my family has any experience with the design field and I really want to know what I can do in the future.

Apr 18, 18 2:01 am
randomised

Well, you do qualify for something, you have a BA in architecture.

Apr 18, 18 4:29 am  · 
 · 
geezertect

You'll still be lacking in firm experience if you hang on for the masters.  Everybody has to climb that hump when they transition to work.  I say take a break and clear your head.  The job market is apparently good in most places right now, and who knows how long that will last.  You can always return in a year or two.  Also, consider getting your masters--if you want one--at a different school.  Different people, different perspective, etc.

Apr 18, 18 7:39 am  · 
 · 
archi_dude

Oh man there’s an awful lot of discrimination in the working world as well. Just the other day my boss discriminated against me on some details I made. He said something about waterproofing and gave me redlines! The harassment!

Apr 18, 18 8:47 am  · 
 · 
wurdan freo