Archinect
anchor

Getting into a B.Arch program in Canada

harry20021010

Hi, I'm a student currently in grade 10 that is interested in pursuing a degree in Architecture. I have a couple questions regarding things I should watch out for and looking for some advice.

I'm looking to go to university in Canada

• What would the Architecture program consist of coursework and assignments wise?
  • I am fairly strong in Math, Science and Art but am lackluster in ELA and Social Studies. Is this something I should worry about and how will this affect my chances of getting into the program (B.Arch)?
  • What is the difference between Architecture and Landscape Architecture? 
  • What do I need to get a Masters in Architecture? 

Thanks for your time and I appreciate any insight you have. 

Apr 15, 18 12:17 pm
Non Sequitur

there are no B.Arch degrees in canada, only accredited M.arch.  I believe there are 10 universities which offer architecture related bachelor degrees in architectural science/study and each is different from the other... not to mention far away (hint canada is wide).

To answer your questions:

1. Architecture undergrad is very demanding and could easily run 80+ hours of coursework per week, consistently, for many months in a row.  Depending on the quality of university (Waterloo at the top end, UofT on the bottom), you'll get a mix of creative design studios, technical building science courses, physics, and professional practice.
  2. You'll need reasonably strong writing and presentation skills as you'll be required to speak convincingly about your work in front of an audience.
  3. Architecture is about buildings and design, landscape can, but is primarily concerned with the settings around (ie. plants) or urban hardscape.  
  4. You'll need a M.arch to become an intern and log hours towards licensing in Canada.  To get into a M.Arch, you'll need reasonably strong grades, a top notch portfolio, and good time management.
Apr 15, 18 12:25 pm  · 
 ·