Archinect
anchor

Is Architecture Worth it?

dedicatedbydesign

Hey Kraye, new architecture student here. I'm a sophomore in college. Planning to change major soon. Based on my experience so far, the people I interact with are all great and friendly. It's really beneficial to build connections with others when you spend hours after hours in the studio to complete projects. One thing you should figure out for sure is whether you are passionate about architecture. These people are all driven by their passion for building things, and of course, if you love something,  you would work extra hard for it. The philosophy also goes like this: if you work hard for something, you'll become better at it, and if you're good in it, you'll grow to love it.

Architecture program's work load is quite intense, to say the least. Chances are, you'll be spending all your time to work on architecture, and that leaves no room for creative art work like you mentioned. Your drawing skills does not matter, like at all. Although (probably you've seen this already while looking into this major) it's a good skill to have. For me, I lean more towards the creative art side, so I knew I didn't fit in the architect's "technicality" mold. If you have your mind set more on that type of art, I'd suggest looking into graphics design, communication design, animation, or game design (creating environments, settings, etc.). That's only to name a few, there's plenty. 

If you really really like planning, drafting, oversee constructions, building, managing budgets, then by all means go for it. Architecture students will get to visit different sites (if you sign up for a club like the AIA, I'm sure almost any college in the U.S. have it), model and draft using Autocad, build, learn to meet deadlines and client's needs, and last but not least, learn to work in teams.