Archinect
anchor

Software choice help required for builder

travisfraser

Hi,

I’m a builder that runs a small design, build and development company in the UK. 

I’m looking to learn either a cad or bim software. I’ve searched the internet to death and I’m still unsure as to which software suits my particular situation best. So hoping for some advice please.

My work is small but high end residential projects. Typically renovations, extensions and single custom houses. I most often do all working drawings myself, upto now hand drafting. The drawings are kept in-house and just used for myself to have a thorough understanding of precisely what is to be built and to communicate this with sub-contractors and suppliers. 

My projects tend to be sleek/minimalist in nature so require meticulous detailing from the outset. A 3d software is certainly desirable to help avoid the mental gymnastics required to build a complex 3d object from  2d representation.

The software programs I’ve narrowed it down to are revit lt, archicad and vectorworks.

Revit and archicad obviously being dedicated bim programs. I’m not sure if this is suitable for small, bespoke projects and if it would be more effort than it is worth to build the model. 

Is building a bim model a very involved process because of all the detail design decisions that need to be made early on in the process? Or is it due to it being difficult to make the software do what you want it to? Or both? If it’s mostly the former then this wouldn’t be an issue as I’m building the building and all these decisions will need to be made by myself at some point anyway. I’d rather do it before we’re onsite.

Vectorworks from what I can tell is a good 2d software that has some bim capabilities. Would this be a good choice for me?