Archinect
anchor

I'm in a BSD Architecture program, is this the worst decision I have made?

lyssadiamond

Did I make the worst choice ever????! 

So I didn't have the GPA to try to get in Accredited Architecture programs in California so I decided to attend Arizona State College to pursue a BSD in Architecture. My other option was to go to Cal Poly Pomona for Urban Planning + M.Arch. I don't feel like I made the right choice now because Arizona State is not NCARB accredited, and I don't want to stay in Arizona to complete my M.Arch. (I will still get my M.Arch but in California) Is there a way to make my situation better?

Some background on me, I'm currently in my second year of my 4 year program. I am a part time student since I finished my GE. I am 24 years old. I attended community college took a year off school. Then transfered to Arizona State. I also have been a drafter in construction engineering since 2015. 

Feb 25, 18 11:26 am
joseffischer

Is your goal to become a licensed architect?  If so, you need to look up any exceptions that allow you licensure with your current route.  My general understanding is that you have to have a professional undergrad or an accredited masters degree to get licensed in all states.  Each state varies, but reciprocity becomes tricky later if you don't do it "by the book".  

Alternatively, if your goal is do architectural work, but you aren't concerned about licensure, then I would remind you that you'll be stuck to houses and small light commercial jobs, which may be fine for you.  At that point, I'm not sure if a degree matters at all, but if you feel like you need to be educated architecturally, then you'll have to weigh the pros and cons of your program at Arizona.