Archinect
anchor

Not that good drawing skills + Sucks at Math = Can i make the cut for architecture????

angelmichaelaorias

Hello!

I'm gel 17 yrs old an incoming college freshman, i want to pursue architecture but I'm not that confident with my drawing skills. i could draw lines etc. but I'm not that good at drawing without a copy of what I should draw. I'll attach a sample of my drawing, I copied that from the image i saw on pinterest.

Bonus: I suck at math. but i think i could get it to work (I think..) though it'll be hell.

Send help guys. 

From a confuse freshman.

Feb 25, 18 12:55 am
Non Sequitur

Math is important, so is the ability to sketch out ideas.  Take some drawing classes and brush up on the fundamental math and physics.  Drawing (copying) from a photograph does not count for much.

Feb 25, 18 1:18 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

You are good at math. Much of our math is ratios and percentages so you got it! I think math class can be intimidating, but seek out some extra help and combining learning math with drawings skills you can do it.

Feb 25, 18 1:56 am  · 
 · 
Medusa

You will be fine.

Feb 25, 18 9:47 am  · 
 · 
joseffischer

Georgia Tech grad... so my experience may be skewed.  Most of my peers in school were the ones who couldn't do math, since the rest of the school was engineering and CS.  Architecture only requires Calc 2, and most of the arch undergrads shared homework and previous tests enough to get a C no matter how bad they were.  Architectural structures courses (of which there are 3 at tech) never required more than basic "plug into your calculator" trig functions.  It still confused many, but as above, they shared information, got their C's and moved on.