Archinect
anchor

anyone transferred to Barch from CC

parks4875

is there anyone transferred to Barch from CC?

Jan 23, 18 6:05 am
senjohnblutarsky

I know several who did.  Your classes from community college will likely count towards some of your basic requirements.  You'll still end up going the full 5 years of school.  In a way, it makes the years at community college a  bit of a waste.  But, you can focus more on your Arch classes and worry less about the core area stuff. 

Jan 23, 18 8:04 am  · 
 · 
parks4875

Thank you for the answer!! I knew that I have to start from 1st year if I transfer to. But the problem is as an international student to keep visa, we get to take 12 credits as minimum per semester....

Jan 23, 18 11:40 am  · 
 · 
Wood Guy

I gave up on a BArch when they told me that literally none of my BS in engineering classes would transfer. I graduated with honors from a top-tier university, and the dinky local BArch school was going to make me start over, including English 1 and a foreign language. (I would liked to have learned a foreign language but it was not required at my university.) At the time I was writing for a national trade magazine and managing the design department at a design/build firm, so I said thanks anyway (actually my words were harsher). I could have gone directly into a master's program but there are none nearby, and remote programs were too expensive and time-consuming, since I had to work close to full time as well. Because of that, I have stuck to residential work, where a license is not required in my state, but I'll always regret not understanding the best path forward when I was still young and in a flexible position. 

While my story doesn't translate perfectly to your situation, I think the gist is to check carefully with a program advisor before getting too far down any paths, so you don't waste time and money. 

Jan 23, 18 11:03 am  · 
 · 
parks4875

Thank you, I got the advice!

Jan 23, 18 12:03 pm  · 
 ·