Archinect
anchor

BCIN & M.Arch or RAIC Syllabus? (Advice for Canadian)

UltraViolet88

Hey everyone,

Kinda at a my-twenties-are-ending-and-i-should-solidify-my-career "crisis". I hold a bachelors of Architectural Science from Ryerson University (Architecture major) and have been working at a boutique residential firm for 5 years (BCIN). 

I guess I'm now toying with a thesis idea that's inspiring me to consider graduate school, but was wondering if people have done the RAIC Syllabus and what are their thoughts and experiences with it? I'm kinda reluctant to go back to school because it's a big time and money commitment, and I do not come from a background of affluence (blue collar immigrant parents). I was wondering if the cost and education of an architect via RAIC syllabus is just as competitive to a graduate education in terms of price, but also quality of work.

How do Architects in the Toronto market see RAIC syllabus students? Am I limiting myself to a few offices that want to take a chance on syllabus students as interns? Or would it be easier for me to go to different firms? I ask because when I came out of Ryerson a while back, it seemed like the offices I wanted to apply and work for were headed by were UofT professors that practiced Architecture.