Archinect
anchor

Construction Management Certificate/Classes

djm1533

Hello all, 

I have worked for a small family owned CM/GC for the last three years. I am very interested in real estate development, but also enjoy working as a CM. I have worked as an onsite super and project manager so I have a decent amount of field experience. I graduated from a liberal arts school so my education is unrelated to the industry. I have taken a real estate finance course just to become more acquainted with that side of the business in case I do choose to pursue development. 

Anyway, my question is if a construction management certificate, or similar classes such as project management classes worth taking? Would I be better off just pursuing a MS in construction management? or is the certificate enough? My objective is make me a stronger candidate in the event I pursue working for a bigger GC/CM or for a developer. 

Thanks 

Dec 21, 17 8:02 pm
cnstruction

I come from a similar background and have worked in both fields.  I would recommend staying the GC/CM route and pursuing certifications.

Jan 2, 18 12:59 pm  · 
 · 
eco_gen

If you want to work for a Developer, I would recommend an MBA or a Masters in Real Estate Finance and Investment. If you start to research the top development companies, you will see that everyone that works on their development team has a background in Economics or Finance. Developers only care about money, so they do not care if you have a background in design or construction, although having that helps.