Archinect
anchor

How to finish a project you don't like?

vøid

Hi people! So I am currently doing a Master's Degree in Architecture which is compulsory in order to sign projects in my country. Even though I decided I would not work professionally as an architect before I even got my Architecture Degree, my family wanted me to sign up for this, and I thought I could deal with it since it would be just another year...

So right now I am stuck in the design phase of my project. I lost my passion some time ago, and no matter how much time I put into my work, I never seem to be satisfied. It happened before I got my Arch Degree, which I barely reached to get, and it's obviously happening again now.
I seem to have more trouble dealing with multiple variables at a time, such as when dealing with something as open and oftentimes subjective as a conceptual design phase, when you don't even know what shape your building is gonna have (Like, you can solve the same project in so many different ways). I usually get lost in my thoughts, deeming each idea worthless or unfit for the project's purpose, spend so many days in front of a blank paper or screen that I've literally seen a whole year fly by with me being unable to get a solid foundation for my project at all. You can guess the results.

That's one of the reasons why I decided to look for alternatives to traditional architecture practice after school, since I know I wouldn't be a good architect anyway due to my preferences for specific problems and such a poor performance in basic architecture tasks... but dammit at least I want to get this over with, I refuse to give up now.

So I wanted to ask you guys, even if you know it's not perfect, even if you know you don't like it or even hate it and you feel stuck... how do you get away with it and just decide that "Okay I need to move on"? Any mind tricks or advice for the extremelly fussy kind? Because just repeating that to myself isn't enough to actually get it done.