Archinect
anchor

IT experience/knowledge in the field of Architecture

jwrath7

I'm a long-time lurker, first time poster.

I would like to speak with those of you out there who are in the field of architecture but have some kind of IT related experience, whether it is from becoming the Tech person within your firm because you have a knack for it or you have prior IT experience and you now work in the field of AEC. 

I am a new intern in my office but i have several years of general IT experience from a previous job. I feel I have a unique perspective because of how tech-heavy architecture has become. what kind of issues and solutions are there for large companies when it comes to file sharing, working on Revit central files or AutoCAD files between multiple offices do some of you have? Do any of your firms use remote desktop or virtualization to work on projects? what are the best practices for collaborating between offices? are bandwidth issues a normal problem that some of you have to overcome or are their simple, cost-effective solutions?

I know this is a broad topic which has likely been discussed before, but I'm hoping to get some insight on best practices on how larger firms streamline there networks and file sharing.

J

Oct 16, 17 11:54 am
thatsthat

We have two offices that are located about 200 miles apart, and we purposely do NOT share projects because it is too hard to figure out who has what files, which one is more up-to-date, etc.,  The two offices have two separate servers, which is a huge pain, because that means one office doesn't have all of the same reference materials as the other, and anytime someone updates a template, it has to be sent to the other office.  In a dream scenario, we would share a server, but I'm not convinced that will ever happen.