Archinect
anchor

Studio Culture in Undergrad

techtonix

I'm a third year professor worried about my studio. 
I've noticed that my students are starting to work from home more often, instead of in studio outside of studio hours.  Somehow the studio culture has changed over the last year or so. We used to have a really lively and creative studio where students would help each other out, have a lot of supplies at their desks, and had a critical mass.  Fore those students left with desktop computers working in studio late hours I bet they feel lonely in such a big space. 
How can I incentivise my students to work in studio?  Is there anything I can do?  If you are in school, or were in school did you work from home or studio, if so why?   How can one change studio culture?

Sep 24, 17 12:03 pm
thisisnotmyname

Your change could be happening for many reasons, have a group discussion with your about the benefits of the studio environment vs. working at home.  Get some feedback and maybe you'll gain some insight into what's going on.

For me studio vs. home varied a lot by semester.   Problems/limitations with the physical environment of the studio and sometimes inconsiderate and disruptive behaviors by other students would make me decide to work at home.

I spent some time at a commuter school where lots of people worked from home.  It was a great way to cover up the fact that your parents and siblings helped you with the production of the project.  This was in the days of hand drafting and really meticulous final models;  I'm not sure how easy is to utilize ringers into today's more digital workflow.

Sep 24, 17 12:57 pm  · 
 · 
randomised