Archinect
anchor

School ideas in Canada?

jonathanmamane

Hi,

I'm looking to pursue a Bachelor's in architecture. I'm graduating with a BCOMM in a year and hoping to make the big jump to architecture.

I'm now looking for a good school in Canada (outside of Quebec), I have ~3.0 gpa. Any leads? Recommendations?

TIA

Aug 29, 17 10:39 pm
Non Sequitur
Jonathan, the top school in Canada, without argument, is Waterloo. But if you're looking to jump into an March instead of a bachelors, then you have to pick one of the other schools who offer a 3y gig since Loo does not take non arch applicants. Just avoid UofT.

Do you have a portfolio? A 3.0 gpa likely won't get admission panels hot and heavy.
Aug 30, 17 6:26 am  · 
 · 
jonathanmamane

Hey, thanks a lot for the response.

I'm currently working on a portfolio. To be honest, I'm not very good at drawing, but currently taking classes. However, I'm much better at building things out of wood, lego, and other materials. I'm very creative, but for some reason, drawing isn't my forte.

My portfolio is coming along, and eitherway, most schools haven't different requirements for them.

I'm currently looking to do a bachelor's in architecture, and eventually an MArch.

I was currently looking at Carleton University, Dalhousie, University of Manitoba, Waterloo, and even UBC's new architecture program.

What are your thoughts?

Sep 12, 17 4:15 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Thoughts? Don't bother with another bachelors if you already have one... unless you're getting into Waterloo (doubtful with a 3.0 GPA). Just aim for the 3-year M.Arch that take non architecture applicants such as UofT and UBC. You'll save loads of time and money. As for the portfolio, it is true that drawing weighs heavily but what is important is that you can convey creative process. How you do it with woodwork or other sculptural means is the real challange.

As an aside, how much of the profession do you actually know? 

Sep 12, 17 4:26 pm  · 
 · 
jonathanmamane