Archinect
anchor

Architecture master where I learn to build?

vicentearancibiapena

Hi everyone.

I'm a chilean architecture student 2 years away from finishing a master and professional degree here. (PUC).

After I finish, I'd like to go study overseas and get another master. I want this master to be about actually building, not very theoretical. I like theory a lot but I feel like I have so much to learn about building.

As a reference, my favorite architects are Zumthor, SANAA, Scarpa, Piano, Bo Bardi. You get the idea.

I want to get another master because I can get a free scolarship and I'd like to use it to know people overseas as I'd like to emigrate to europe in the future.

I like the ETH a lot but my german is way too basic for that, I think.

I've been thinking about some AA programs but not sure.

Ty!

Aug 23, 17 8:06 pm
randomised

If you want to actually build just work and let someone else take that free scholarship, don't be greedy.

Aug 23, 17 10:28 pm  · 
 · 
vicentearancibiapena

To be honest most scholarships aren't used here (government ones).

I think going to a foreign university would be fun too :p

I feel like I if I just hit somewhere straight working I won't have any friends as I feel like you can create stronger bonds with classmates, and so on and so on.

These two look particulary fitting:

http://www.aaschool.ac.uk/STUD...

https://architecture.mit.edu/b...

Don't they?

Aug 24, 17 12:01 am  · 
 · 
randomised

Go to both then, double the fun, double the friends...

Aug 24, 17 4:39 am  · 
 · 
vicentearancibiapena

any special reason for being so harsh?

Aug 25, 17 6:58 pm  · 
 · 
randomised

I'm not harsh I'm frank. It's all paid for by your government so grab as much of it while you can and enjoy it before it's too late.

Aug 26, 17 4:23 am  · 
 · 
vicentearancibiapena

lol, I still have to be young after that to start working, plus it's my family who will pay what I eat.

Aug 26, 17 7:02 pm  · 
 · 
archietechie