Archinect
anchor

Studying undergraduate architecture in UK, mastering in US?

Wesley She

Hello guys! Got a few questions to ask concerning my further studies. I am an international student from Hong Kong who has just graduated from high school. Originally, I was planning to study architecture in the Carnegie Mellon University (which i got in tgt with cornell), however, mid-way thru the year, the financial status for my family literally collapsed. 5+2 years in the states (nearly USD 90000 per year) would be impossible for my family. Since US is somewhere I really would like to study eventually, I therefore have the following options:

1. Studying BA Architecture in the University of Edinburgh (three years, RIBA part 1) --> Studying MPhil Degree in Architecture and Urban Design in the University of Cambridge (two years, RIBA part 2+ Master in Philosophy) --> Cornell/ MIT/ Harvard/ Columbia M.Arch II (two years)

2. Studying BA Architecture in the University of Edinburgh (three years, RIBA part 1) --> Studying MPhil Degree in Architecture and Urban Design in the University of Cambridge (two years, RIBA part 2+ Master in Philosophy)

3. Studying Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies in the University of Hong Kong (four years, RIBA part 1) --> Cornell/ MIT/ Harvard/ Columbia M.Arch I (three years)

4. Studying Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies in the University of Hong Kong (four years, RIBA part 1) --> Studying Master of Architecture in the University of Hong Kong (two years, RIBA part 2) --> Cornell/ MIT/ Harvard/ Columbia M.Arch I (three years)

5. Studying Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies in the University of Hong Kong (four years, RIBA part 1) --> Studying Master of Architecture in the University of Hong Kong (two years, RIBA part 2)

A few things here:

1. I really wanna study in the States for personal reasons