Archinect
anchor

Are Rankings Dependable?

cr3sc3nt

Hello, as a prospective architecture student I would like some opinions on the validity of rankings. 

GSD can be great, but I spoke to many students there who say they would have preferred MIT. And based on my visits, I was most impressed by the vibe and works at Yale, which focuses less on advertising its brand name and quietly remains true to the mastery of their architectural work. And there are some schools that aren't ranked very high like SCI-Arc, Princeton, and Penn that are very admired by deans and administrators.

I understand that rankings are based on a biased perspective. And what is much more important is the student's fit with the school's pedagogy, faculty, and personality. Is it still somewhat dependable?

May 12, 17 4:16 pm
calebehly1

When did SCi-arc, Princeton and Penn become not ranked well? There all top 20, if not top 10.

One thing I would be wary about in design intelligence ranking, there's defiantly some merit there, but huge portion (some one correct me if i wrong) of there system is based on alum feedback. So if a school is moderately good and has a huge program, there's going to get a lot of feedback from them.

And your second statement is very true, but one thing I would say that what rankings do do, is fosters a sense of competitiveness and standard, (same goes with the ivy league) yes there are some kids who fall through and may be mediocre, but in the end the students who are there are usually extremely determined and good designers. which relates back the vastness of their alumi connections and so on.

Literally writing this as I get ready to walk for my undergraduate degree.... before heading to PENN in the fall.....so I hope im not just lying to my self.

May 13, 17 10:12 am  · 
 · 
placebeyondthesplines