Archinect
anchor

Bachelors or Masters Arch?

marcus_91

Hello, 

I'm currently a working professional, 26yo, with a graduate degree in Bachelors of Business Administration (Marketing & Finance) and looking into pursuing studies in Architecture. I've been researching on where/how to start this journey and not sure on the most effective, efficient way. 

Goal: In the long-run, becoming a licensed architect and being able to open my own practice, not restricted to locales. 

It would be great to get your expertise from the industry and see what's worth the time, money, and resources vs. what's not. Here below are my dilemma: 

• Aim on applying for Bachelors in Architecture or M.Arch programs, even though I already have a 4-year bachelors in business administration from an accredited college in US?
  • If M.Arch, route, do you have any recommended institutions in Europe or North America that doesn't require background in architectural studies in bachelors? 
  • Where can I start on my portfolio preparation? (e.g. premature photography work that I have, but not drawings or computer-generated arts that I can use) 
  • Is there any recommended online course that I can take for introduction to Architecture and building portfolio? 
  • As I'm behind on technical aspect of the job, is there recommended software that I can get a head start on and start getting myself familiar with? (e.g. Autocad, etc.)

Thank you so much for your feedback and appreciate any guidelines / help! 

Best,
Marcus

Apr 9, 17 11:35 am
marcus_91

Hi Rick, 

Thank you for the suggestions. Do you think it'll be necessary to start fresh by enrolling myself in Bachelors or if applicable, then with M.Arch programs? 

Also, if I were to pursue a degree outside of U.S (non-NAAB accredited)., will it ultimately limit my choice of where I can get a job after completion of my M.arch program? 

Best,
Marcus

Apr 9, 17 8:34 pm  · 
 · 
pooja1j