Archinect
anchor

Would internship at Japanese starchitect help on graduate school application?

FD47

Hi, guys

Just want to ask how professional experience works for graduate school application as I am just invited to a 3-month internship at Shigeru Ban Architects in Tokyo. (Aug-Nov)

I will get my Bachelor of Architecture degree in the coming May and I am planning to apply for M.arch II for 2018. 

I have actually went through grad school application last semester and got accepted to GSAPP-MSAAD starting this summer (waitlisted at Cornell). However I don't think I will go because 

1. I have very little experience out of school (only several months of part-time intern at a small local firm here in Florida.)

2. Without enough experience, I have not yet thinking about my goal on design and research, which might make me lost in the 1-year intensive program  at GSAPP.

3. Columbia doesn't offer scholarship to international student (my parents would like to pay, but I don't really think it worth as I am not preparing well for it); 

The next round application procedure will start soon in fall and I only have several months to prepare for it. In this case, is it worth to take this starchitect internship? Considering grad app material, I don't think the internship can add much to my portfolio unless there is a competition to engage. I think the value will be largely represented on my resume and personal statement. 

I have to consider this seriously because the internship cost a lot.  As I know the office works long hours (10am-evening, Mon-Fri as they told me) It is almost unpaid (only transportation fee is offered)

If not going, my option 2 is to stay at the local firm where I had interned before, working full-time and get paid in order to maintain my visa; meanwhile preparing for my upcoming grad school application.

As I evaluated my application result this year, I think I will aim at schools like GSD; Yale and MIT for my next application.

Any suggestions?