Archinect
anchor

Yale VS Cornell M.Arch 1

Meowkins

Hi all, 

I have been accepted to both Yale as well as Cornell for the MArch 1 program. Got rejected from the GSD, very bummed out about it.

I have got some funding from Cornell but am waiting to hear about funding from Yale to ask for more funding.

Unfortunately as an international student I wont be able to attend the open House at either and am really relying on you guys's past and present experiences to help me decide.

I am going to tell you a little bit about what I want to get from my degree and then my current perceptions of the two colleges. Your insights would be really appreciated!

I already have a non professional Architectural undergraduate degree. Post starting my MArch 1 program I want to take classes in Urban planning as well as Landscape Architecture to eventually do a Dual degree with whichever one I resonate with more along with my MArch1. SO all in all I am looking at a program that would be interdisciplinary with an environmental, urban and social outlook or agenda.

My current perceptions about the two colleges:

CORNELL: 

20-24 kids per batch so more individual attention.

Offers a Masters in Regional Planning as well as a Masters in Landscape Architecture and are willing to do a customized program in order to help me achieve whichever Dual Degree I would like to do. But just the fact that they offer these to masters makes me think the opportunity of a interdisciplinary education is higher.

I am not fully aware about how good the facilities at Cornell are compared to Yale as I have heard Yale as the best facilities.

Extremely secluded location which maybe makes getting certain types of faculty more difficult than Yale.

YALE:

55 or so kids per batch.

Although it doesnt have an Urban Planning program or department it has an amazingly well renowned Forestry department which offers a dual degree with MArch 1 and Environmental management.