Archinect
anchor

March I Portfolio -advice on what to include?

jendyedge

Hi all,

I am currently in the process of applying to M.arch I programs for next fall. Reading through other forum posts and responses, there seems to be a wide variety of potential projects one can include in their portfolio (for non-architecture undergrads) to show their creativity. 

I studied Urban Planning in undergrad and plan to include one or two of my main projects which also show some of my relatable design ability (with Adobe CS and Sketchup). I am also planning on including some of my hand sketches and rendering work of things like glue guns and chess pieces for which I used Adobe CS, Rhino 3D and Keyshot. The renderings are from my minor that overlapped with the industrial design program at my school.

While I believe the above projects will be a good start, I read on the university websites and from forums it is a good idea to include a wide variety of types of work. 

My question is what types of other work should I include? I have tons of random work and was wondering if I can get an opinion on what (if any) of the types of projects I have done could be good things to include. 

Some types of projects: 

-Hand-dyed textiles such as tapestries, sewn bags, quilted work

-Metal Jewelry such as silver rings with resin and enamel and riveted decorative pins

-Screen prints, etchings and paintings/drawings (many of which are of nature, not architecture related)

Another thing I have done that I have been considering including is illustrations I tattooed on fruit like melons and oranges with my tattoo gun. I know this in really weird but I'm considering it because it might catch the eye of those reviewing my portfolio. The only reason I would include these is to show my creative ability with varying media. Is this to strange/far out there?

Any and all advice is helpful! 

Nov 13, 16 7:44 pm
jendyedge